39 cities and municipalities

Oulu is the core city for the development and delivery of the European Capital of Culture year, but we also want to include the wider “Oulu region” which covers a total of 39 municipalities and cities.  A shared history and traffic network connect the cities in our region. This gives us a fascinating project area located between the borders of Russia and Sweden.

The area is broad also geographically: it includes cities and municipalities from Kainuu, Sea Lapland as well as from Northern Ostrobothnia. Work to win the competition for the title of cultural capital and the journey towards the year 2026 demands investments from the entire northern implementation area. Luckily there is a strong desire for collaboration as the involved municipalities are excited about including their cultural projects into the programme. The commitment to the shared values of the activity, such as social and ecological responsibility, has also been unanimous. 

Oulu2026 region includes

Alavieska, Haapajärvi, Haapavesi, Hailuoto, Hyrynsalmi, Ii, Kalajoki, Kajaani, Kemi, Kempele, Kuhmo, Kuusamo, Kärsämäki, Liminka, Lumijoki, Muhos, Nivala, Oulainen, Paltamo, Pielavesi, Puolanka, Pudasjärvi, Pyhäjoki, Pyhäjärvi, Pyhäntä, Ranua, Raahe, Ristijärvi, Siikajoki, Siikalatva, Sievi, Sotkamo, Suomussalmi, Taivalkoski, Tornio, Tyrnävä, Utajärvi, Vaala, Ylivieska